• July 22, 2023
  • Web Editor
  • 0

Shaheen, Naseem join victory celebrations as Pakistan reach Emerging Asia Cup final

Shaheen Shah Afridi and Naseem Shah encouraged the Pakistan A team by joining their celebrations in Colombo after they stormed into final of the ACC Men’s Emerging Cup.

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has shared a video on Twitter, showing the national team’s pacers attending a cake-cutting ceremony and congratulating the players at a hotel.

On Friday, Pakistan Shaheens brushed aside Sri Lanka A by 60 runs to storm into the ACC Men’s Emerging Cup final at Paikiasothy Saravanamuttu (PSS) Stadium on Friday.

Chasing a target of 322, Sri Lanka A were bundled out for 262, with 26 balls to spare. For Sri Lanka A, Avishka Fernando and Sahan Arachchige amassed 97 each. But, could not overhaul a massive total of 322.

With the exception of Fernando and Arachchige, there was nothing special to talk about the Sri Lanka A’s batting attack.
Lasith Croospulle (0), Minod Bhanuka (1), Pasindu Sooriyabandara (10), Ashen Bandara (17), Dunith Wellalage (14), Chamika Karunaratne (10), Dushan Hemantha (0), Lahiru Samarakoon (5) and Pramod Madushan (1) were failed to show any significant resistance with the bat.

For the Shaheens, Arshad Iqbal (5-37) bagged five wickets. Mubashir Khan (2-45) and Sufiyan Muqeem (2-44) picked up two wickets apiece. Amad Butt (1–36) took a scalp.

Mohammad Wasim (0-47) and Qasim Akram (0-48) remained wicketless.

Earlier, opting to bat first, Omair Yousuf’s scintillating 79-ball 88 and Mohammad Haris’ 43-ball 52 powered the Shaheens to a big total.

In his 88-run knock, Omair clobbered 10 fours and one six. Haris smashed five boundaries in his useful innings.

Other batters, Mubasir Khan (42), Tayyab Tahir (26), Mohammad Wasim (24) and Saim Ayub (22) also showed some significant resistance with the bat.

For Sri Lanka A, Lahiru Samarakoon (2-42), Chamika Karunaratne (2-55) and Pramod Madushan (2-56) bagged two wickets apiece.

Dunith Wellalage (1-41) and Sahan Arachchige (1-43) took a scalp each. Dushan Hemantha (0-48) and Ashen Bandara (0-21) remained wicketless.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *